Leave a comment

Weekly Email 10-11-2020

Hello Runners! Here’s the fifth installment of our Weekly RC Newsletter! 

This week’s Highlights:

Membership:

You can still be a member of the Running Club this semester!  If you would like to be a member of Running Club and attend our virtual events throughout the semester, we ask that the following are completed:

  • Request membership on our IMLeagues page
  • Fill out the membership consent form and supplemental health waiver
  • On IMLeagues complete the Safety & Risk Management training module*: https://forms.gle/PxTrygrDZeoCmrSt8

*All members must complete the safety module (on IMLeagues) and pass with a score of 80% or higher.  You MUST retake the module until you achieve this score to become a member of the club.

Membership is FREE this semester – we will not be taking dues! Woohoo! 

*LIVE* Core Workout:

Join us for a live core workout led by your Running Club officers! 

Date: Sunday, October 18th

Time: 11AM (approximately 15 minutes)

Meeting Link:  https://uwmadison.zoom.us/j/94715868359

Running Recipe of the Week: Mexican Chicken, Sweet Potato and Black Bean Skillet

Article Spotlight:

Run Routes of the Week:

  • Hoyt Park Long – 5.1 mi, Shell

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/2391211888

  • Hoyt Park Short – 3.82 mi, Shell

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/1416164467

  • Governor’s Mansion – 7.8 mi, Bascom

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/577705568

HIIT Workouts of the Week:

This week we’ve got one, challenging HIIT circuit for you all! For this challenge you need to find is a hill (between 50-100 meters long) and the will to get it done! Here’s the workout:

6 rounds

  • hill sprint (uphill)
  • slow jog downhill
  • 10 push ups 
  • 20 mountain climbers
  • 20 jump squats

Cool Core Circuit:

Track Workout:

Hi team, half through the semester, I know I cannot figure out if that is stress inducing or a comfort but regardless there is always time to run! The weather these past few weeks has been amazing of I hope you all have a chance to try this one outside.

Join our Strava team! 

Strava (https://www.strava.com/clubs/uwrunningclub) is a great way to stay connected to other runners! We’ve created a “Club” page for runners, feel free to request to join! You can find us by searching “UW Madison Running Club”.

Follow Us on Social Media!

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/RunningClub.UWMadison/photos/?ref=page_internal

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/runningclubuwmsn/?hl=en

Feel free to reach out to us with any questions! 

Happy Running!

RC Officers

Officer Contact Info:

Libbi Fassbender: Industrial/Manufacturing Engineering – amfassbender@wisc.edu

Jennie Rapuano: Neurobiology – rapuano@wisc.edu

Hailey Jaschob: Biology and Gender & Women’s Studies – jaschob@wisc.edu

Ben Pierce: Civil Engineering – bdpierce@wisc.edu

Libby Whelan: Microbiology and Global Health – ewhelan@wisc.edu 

Taishi Ikeda: Biology – tgikeda@wisc.edu

Gabriel Pienkos: Actuarial Science/Finance – gpienkos@wisc.edu

Jordan Wilkins: Computer Engineering/Computer Science – jmwilkins@wisc.edu

Freddie Mildenhall: Genetics, Horticulture, Biocore Certificate – fmildenhall@wisc.edu

Abby Ernst: Psychology, Criminal Justice Certificate – amernst2@wisc.edu

Sai Nagisetty: Neurobiology and Psychology, Health and the Humanities Certificate – nagisetty@wisc.edu 

Clint Carney: Electrical Engineering – cwcarney@wisc.edu 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s