Leave a comment

Weekly Email 10-19-2020

Hello Runners! Here’s the sixth installment of our Weekly RC Newsletter! 

This week’s Highlights:

Membership:

You can still be a member of the Running Club this semester!  If you would like to be a member of Running Club and attend our virtual events throughout the semester, we ask that the following are completed:

  • Request membership on our IMLeagues page
  • Fill out the membership consent form and supplemental health waiver
  • On IMLeagues complete the Safety & Risk Management training module*: https://forms.gle/PxTrygrDZeoCmrSt8

*All members must complete the safety module (on IMLeagues) and pass with a score of 80% or higher.  You MUST retake the module until you achieve this score to become a member of the club.

Membership is FREE this semester – we will not be taking dues! Woohoo! 

*LIVE* Core Workout:

Join us for a live core workout led by your Running Club officers! 

Date: Sunday, October 25th

Time: 11AM (approximately 15 minutes)

Meeting Link:  https://uwmadison.zoom.us/j/92765358586

Running Recipe of the Week: Chicken Avocado Black Bean Salad

https://www.averiecooks.com/chicken-avocado-black-bean-salad/

Article Spotlight: Runner Has Frightening Encounter With Mountain Lion in Utah, from Runners World

https://www.runnersworld.com/news/a34360260/kyle-burgess-mountain-lion-encounter/

HIIT Workouts of the Week:

  1. cardio + strength! This is a great workout for when you want to get a run in, but also want to work on building muscle! Try this circuit for 3 rounds total!
    1. 1 mile jog
    2. 40 air squats
    3. 30 bicycle crunches
    4. 20 alternating curtsy lunges
    5. 10 push ups
  2. simple but challenging arms + core! Repeat this circuit 4 times!
    1. 20 mountain climbers
    2. 20 bicycle crunches (each leg)
    3. 10 push ups

Cool Core Circuit:

Track Workout:

Running Routes:

Shorter Arb Route: 6.01 mi – Mem U start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/2783810797

Short Hospital Loop: 3.44 mi – Bascom start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/2880591556

Long Lakeshore: 9.13 mi – Bascom start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/2905496824

****Enjoy the colors!****

Join our Strava team! 

Strava (https://www.strava.com/clubs/uwrunningclub) is a great way to stay connected to other runners! We’ve created a “Club” page for runners, feel free to request to join! You can find us by searching “UW Madison Running Club”.

Follow Us on Social Media!

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/RunningClub.UWMadison/photos/?ref=page_internal

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/runningclubuwmsn/?hl=en

Feel free to reach out to us with any questions! 

Happy Running!

RC Officers

Officer Contact Info:

Libbi Fassbender: Industrial/Manufacturing Engineering – amfassbender@wisc.edu

Jennie Rapuano: Neurobiology – rapuano@wisc.edu

Hailey Jaschob: Biology and Gender & Women’s Studies – jaschob@wisc.edu

Ben Pierce: Civil Engineering – bdpierce@wisc.edu

Libby Whelan: Microbiology and Global Health – ewhelan@wisc.edu 

Taishi Ikeda: Biology – tgikeda@wisc.edu

Gabriel Pienkos: Actuarial Science/Finance – gpienkos@wisc.edu

Jordan Wilkins: Computer Engineering/Computer Science – jmwilkins@wisc.edu

Freddie Mildenhall: Genetics, Horticulture, Biocore Certificate – fmildenhall@wisc.edu

Abby Ernst: Psychology, Criminal Justice Certificate – amernst2@wisc.edu

Sai Nagisetty: Neurobiology and Psychology, Health and the Humanities Certificate – nagisetty@wisc.edu 

Clint Carney: Electrical Engineering – cwcarney@wisc.edu 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s