Leave a comment

Weekly Email 10-24-2020

Hello Runners! Here’s the seventh installment of our Weekly RC Newsletter! 

This week’s Highlights:

Halloween Social

Join fellow running club members for a fun night filled with spooky-ish games! We will be hosting another game night this upcoming friday, October 30th at 5pm.  This game night differs from the past, as we will be playing 3 different, halloween themed games!  In addition to games, we are encouraging attendees to dress up in their best costume as well!  If you’re interested in attending, please fill out this RSVP form so we can plan appropriately.  Hope to see you all there! 

Officer Recruitment

Running Club will be looking for a handful of new officers for the 2021-2022 school year! If you have an interest in becoming more involved in Running Club and gaining some leadership experience, watch out for some more info in upcoming emails about the positions we’re looking to fill and how to apply!

*LIVE* Core Workout:

Join us for a live core workout led by your Running Club officers! 

Date: Sunday, November 1st

Time: 11AM (approximately 15 minutes)

Zoom Link: https://uwmadison.zoom.us/j/91807197610

Meeting ID: 918 0719 7610

Running Recipe of the Week: Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

Article Spotlight: Why Running Won’t Ruin Your Knees, from the New York Times

HIIT Workouts of the Week:

  1. complete this HIIT circuit 3 times through for time! 
    1. 40 jumping jacks
    2. 30 lunges (15 each leg)
    3. 20 bicycles (20 each side)
    4. 10 pushups
  2. short bursts of cardio! complete this circuit 3 times, each exercise for 30 seconds!
    1. air squat jumps
    2. burpees
    3. crunches 

Cool Core Circuit:

Track Workout:

Running Routes:

  • Brit Bay Short – 3.73 mi – Bascom Start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/1814571899

  • Southwest Trail – 5.02 mi – Shell start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/2411275657

  • Hoyt Park Bluff Long Run – 7.01 mi – Bascom Start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/567360844

Membership:

You can still be a member of the Running Club this semester!  If you would like to be a member of Running Club and attend our virtual events throughout the semester, we ask that the following are completed:

  • Request membership on our IMLeagues page
  • Fill out the membership consent form and supplemental health waiver
  • On IMLeagues complete the Safety & Risk Management training module*: https://forms.gle/PxTrygrDZeoCmrSt8

*All members must complete the safety module (on IMLeagues) and pass with a score of 80% or higher.  You MUST retake the module until you achieve this score to become a member of the club.

Membership is FREE this semester – we will not be taking dues! Woohoo! 

Join our Strava team! 

Strava (https://www.strava.com/clubs/uwrunningclub) is a great way to stay connected to other runners! We’ve created a “Club” page for runners, feel free to request to join! You can find us by searching “UW Madison Running Club”.

Follow Us on Social Media!

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/RunningClub.UWMadison/photos/?ref=page_internal

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/runningclubuwmsn/?hl=en

Feel free to reach out to us with any questions! 

Happy Running!

RC Officers

Officer Contact Info:

Libbi Fassbender: Industrial/Manufacturing Engineering – amfassbender@wisc.edu

Jennie Rapuano: Neurobiology – rapuano@wisc.edu

Hailey Jaschob: Biology and Gender & Women’s Studies – jaschob@wisc.edu

Ben Pierce: Civil Engineering – bdpierce@wisc.edu

Libby Whelan: Microbiology and Global Health – ewhelan@wisc.edu 

Taishi Ikeda: Biology – tgikeda@wisc.edu

Gabriel Pienkos: Actuarial Science/Finance – gpienkos@wisc.edu

Jordan Wilkins: Computer Engineering/Computer Science – jmwilkins@wisc.edu

Freddie Mildenhall: Genetics, Horticulture, Biocore Certificate – fmildenhall@wisc.edu

Abby Ernst: Psychology, Criminal Justice Certificate – amernst2@wisc.edu

Sai Nagisetty: Neurobiology and Psychology, Health and the Humanities Certificate – nagisetty@wisc.edu 

Clint Carney: Electrical Engineering – cwcarney@wisc.edu 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s