Leave a comment

Weekly Email 9-27-2020

Hello Runners! 

Here’s the third installment of our Weekly RC Newsletter! 

This week’s Highlights:

Membership:

You can still be a member of the Running Club this semester!  If you would like to be a member of Running Club and attend our virtual events throughout the semester, we ask that the following are completed:

  • Request membership on our IMLeagues page
  • Fill out the membership consent form and supplemental health waiver
  • On IMLeagues complete the Safety & Risk Management training module*: https://forms.gle/PxTrygrDZeoCmrSt8

*All members must complete the safety module (on IMLeagues) and pass with a score of 80% or higher.  You MUST retake the module until you achieve this score to become a member of the club.

Membership is FREE this semester – we will not be taking dues! Woohoo! 

*LIVE* Core Workout:

Join us for a live core workout led by your Running Club officers! 

Date: Sunday, October 4th

Time: 11AM (approximately 15 minutes)

Meeting Link:  https://uwmadison.zoom.us/j/99163964340

Running Recipe of the Week: Greek Chicken Grain Bowls

Article Spotlight: 

Run Routes & Workouts of the Week:

Double Lake Loop – 5.15 mi – Shell Start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/2897393653

James Madison Park – 3.97 mi – Bascom Hill Start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/897912193

Turville Park Long Run – 8.01 mi – Memorial Union Start

https://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/582085352

HIIT Workouts of the Week:

The first HIIT workout of the week was designed by @rachelsgoodeats on instagram! Check out the full workout video here (https://www.instagram.com/p/CEUSz4dAXDL/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link) or see below for a snapshot of the workout! It helps to watch the video to understand some of the exercises)

The second HIIT workout of the week is a shorter circuit, targeting the lower body:

  • 3 rounds, 4 exercises each round
    • 20 air squats
    • 20 lunges (10 each leg)
    • 10 burpees
    • 20 mountain climbers (10 each side)

Cool Core Circuit:

Track Workout:

Hi guys welcome to week 5 of the semester, wow things are flying fast this fall. This week its a hill workout so get ready. 

Join our Strava team! 

Strava (https://www.strava.com/clubs/uwrunningclub) is a great way to stay connected to other runners! We’ve created a “Club” page for runners, feel free to request to join! You can find us by searching “UW Madison Running Club”.

This week we will highlight one of our members on Strava for their great work! Make sure to check it out!

Feel free to reach out to us with any questions! 

Happy Running!

RC Officers

Officer Contact Info:

Libbi Fassbender: Industrial/Manufacturing Engineering – amfassbender@wisc.edu

Jennie Rapuano: Neurobiology – rapuano@wisc.edu

Hailey Jaschob: Biology and Gender & Women’s Studies – jaschob@wisc.edu

Ben Pierce: Civil Engineering – bdpierce@wisc.edu

Libby Whelan: Microbiology and Global Health – ewhelan@wisc.edu 

Taishi Ikeda: Biology – tgikeda@wisc.edu

Gabriel Pienkos: Actuarial Science/Finance – gpienkos@wisc.edu

Jordan Wilkins: Computer Engineering/Computer Science – jmwilkins@wisc.edu

Freddie Mildenhall: Genetics, Horticulture, Biocore Certificate – fmildenhall@wisc.edu

Abby Ernst: Psychology, Criminal Justice Certificate – amernst2@wisc.edu

Sai Nagisetty: Neurobiology and Psychology, Health and the Humanities Certificate – nagisetty@wisc.edu 

Clint Carney: Electrical Engineering – cwcarney@wisc.edu 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s